(Picture shows artwork by Jill Pelto ‘Landscape of Change’ and the title of our art competition: Art for Earth’s Sake!! Cool Art for a Cool Climate)

General Info

Knox Church is calling on Dunedin artists to contribute to our Art Exhibition. Its aim is to highlight the emergency of our changing climate, kaitiakitanga and our need to protect it . There is a rising tide of concern about global warming, in Dunedin, too, but much of it appeals to panic and alarm. This is understandable, but it needs to be complemented by a positive vision for the future. Art can help to nurture this.
The connection between faith and art goes back centuries, if not millennia. In addition the biblical focus on Creation, Exodus, the prophetic call for justice, and the call for a New Creation offer perspectives urgently needed at this time.
The intention of the exhibition that art will be showcased in and around Knox Church. We are hoping to encourage an intergenerational representation of the state of our world now and ideas of where our world could be heading. It is a place to lament, have hope and be creative.

Information to our opening event are TBC
Information regarding Prizes are TBC

Key Dates

Submissions due by Monday 30 September 2019
Opening Event: Sunday 6 October 2019
Exhibition: Sunday 6 to Sunday 13 October 2019


Children: these are split into Primary School, Intermediate School &
High School and Adults

Information for artists

Create a personal artwork that expresses your feelings in a world facing climate change, perhaps by reusing, recycling, up-cycling materials.
If you would like to have a viewing of the grounds that you could use, please get in contact with us

Entry form can be downloaded here

PDF of poster can be downloaded here

Word document versions of the poster and entry form  can be downloaded here  Art for earth’s sake!! Cool art for a cool climate_poster
Art Exhibition Entry Form 2019

(Photo shows landscape artwork of recycled bottle caps)




(Photo shows art exhibit of a ocean creature filled with rubbish)




(Photo shows turtle on waves made of recycled plastics and other materials)